Daniell furious with bad umpiring call that potenially cost huge US Open upset
New Zealand’s Marcus Daniell is furious after an umpiring mistake in his second-round doubles match against French third seeds Nicolas Mahut and Pierre-Hugues-Herbert at the US Open.
Daniell and his Brazilian partner Marcelo Demoliner have been beaten 6-3,6-7 (3) 7-6. (1) in 2 hours 30. As the score suggests there was little in it although Daniell feels robbed after a moment of controversy early in the third set.
Mahut was serving at 1-1 30-30 and Herbert hit a volley which was long, but Daniell says the umpire thought the ball had hit him on the way past. “But it was about a foot away and was so obvious we didn't pay attention to the score, so when we won the next point, we thought we'd broken them.” Daniell said.
There was a discussion between Daniell and Herbert for several minutes before they resumed.
An aggrieved Daniell is gutted they should have been 2-1 up with a break and instead found themselves 2-1 down.
“Our opponents apologised to us after the match.” Daniell revealed.
The Kiwi must turns his attention to the Mixed Doubles where he is in the second round with partner Canadian Gabriela Dabrowski.
Erin Routliffe plays her second-round doubles match with 18-year-old Canadian partner Leylah Fernandez tomorrow. They take on young Americans Ashlyn Krueger and Robin Montgomery.