Four Kiwis appointed to International Tennis Federation Committees and Commissions

Tuesday, 10 December 2019

The International Tennis Federation has today completed the 2020-2021 ITF Committee and Commission nomination process and four New Zealanders have been appointed to the international body’s committees.

Celia Patrick, past President of Tennis NZ, Julie Paterson CEO of Tennis NZ, Patrick O’Rourke and David Smith have all been appointed to an ITF Committee.

Committee members include representatives of the ITF Board, member nations and other individuals with specific areas of expertise.

ITF President David Haggerty said: “Tennis can be proud of its achievements in providing equal opportunities on court, but we recognise that this is not yet reflected in leadership roles at the highest levels. In addition to increasing the number of women on our own committees, we encourage our national and regional associations to continue to increase diversity on their boards and committees so that our future pool of talented leaders have the opportunity to develop and assume senior positions in our sport. Committees will play a critical role in providing the resources needed to meet the challenges that lie ahead.”

The nomination process provided information to the ITF from a wide variety of sources and based on the information received it is believed that the background, skills, experience, competencies, talent and passion of all the selected committee members can truly help the ITF fulfil its ITF2024 Strategy and grow and develop tennis around the world.

Appointed roles to the ITF Committee and Commission’s:
• Celia Patrick – Finance and Audit Committee
• Julie Paterson – Gender Equality in Tennis Committee
• Patrick O’Rourke – Juniors Committee
• David Smith - Stakeholder Engagement Taskforce

More News

Win the Ultimate Australian Open Experience

Wednesday, 16 November 2022

We’ve teamed up with AO Travel, the official travel partner for the 2023 Austral...

Serve’s up in the schoolyard as Papamoa gets ready...

Tuesday, 15 November 2022

Tennis fever is building in Pāpāmoa as the coastal community prepares to host an...

ASB Classic Wild Card Playoff

Friday, 11 November 2022

Tennis New Zealand today announced the creation of Wild Card Play-Off events to ...